Philippines: Travel ban on 10 countries extended until August 15

Philippines: Travel ban on 10 countries extended until August 15

MANILA: The Duterte administration has extended until August 15 a ban on travelers from 10 countries in an effort to curb the spread of the Delta variant of COVID-19.

Harry Roque, spokesperson for the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF), announced Friday that the following countries still have travel restrictions in place:

  • India
  • Pakistan
  • nepal
  • sri lanka
  • Bangladesh
  • Oman
  • united arab emirates
  • Indonesia
  • Malaysia
  • Thailand

The Asian country’s COVID-19 positivity rate (the percentage of people who tested positive) climbed to 16.2% on Thursday, the highest level in three months, according to the health ministry. That was the highest level since April 29, when it was at 16.3%.

The rate is classified as “high” by the US nonprofit Covid Act Now’s metrics, which are also used by the IATF as a reference. A geographic area is considered adequately tested when its positivity rate is less than 3 percent; when the percentage exceeds 20 percent, it is undertested.

As of Thursday, 176 more people died from the disease, and the death toll also jumped to 27,577, accounting for 1.75% of the national death toll.

This story is breaking and being updated…

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button