Australia, South Africa to meet in final

Women’s T20 WC: Australia, South Africa to meet in final

February 25, 2023 at 1:10 pm
2 min read

South Africa set to play World Cup final for first time (Source: Twitter / @ICC)

Australia and South Africa will face off in the 2023 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup final in Cape Town on Sunday.

Australia narrowly beat India to reach the final for the seventh time.

Meanwhile, SA advanced to a World Cup final (men’s or women’s) for the first time.

The Women in Yellow are aiming to win their sixth WT20 WC title.

Presentation report, schedule and broadcast details

Newlands in Cape Town will host the final.

The average first inning total at this venue is about 150. The chasing sides have won 21 of the 37 T20Is played here.

A wicket is likely to help both batsman and bowler.

The game will air live on the Star Sports Network (6:30 p.m. IST) and live on Disney+Hotstar (paid subscription).

Australia unbeaten against SA

Australia is unbeaten against South Africa in the Women’s T20Is. They have won six meetings, the first of which dates back to June 2009. Australia also defeated South Africa in Group 1 of the ongoing WT20 WC.

This is possible XI

Australia Women’s (possible XI): Alyssa Healy (goalkeeper), Beth Mooney, Meg Lanning (captain), Ashleigh Gardner, Ellyse Perry, Tahlia McGrath, Grace Harris, Georgia Wareham, Jess Jonassen, Megan Schutt, Darcie Brown.

SA Women (possible XI): Laura Wolvaardt, Tazmin Brits, Marizanne Kapp, Sune Luus (captain), Chloe Tryon, Nadine de Klerk, Anneke Bosch, Sinalo Jafta (keeper), Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Nonkululeko Mlaba.

2023 Women’s T20 WC main performers

South Africa’s Tazmin Brits is second in the ongoing Women’s T20 World Cup with 176 points.

Notably, Australia’s Alyssa Healy is her closest competitor (171 points).

Australia’s Megan Schutt and Ashleigh Gardner are the joint second-highest wickets at the tournament. The duo took nine wickets each in five matches.

For SA, Ayabonga Khaka and Marizanne Kapp share the top spot (7).

Australia look to their sixth WT20 WC title

As mentioned, Australia has reached the final of the Women’s T20 World Cup for the seventh time.

When West Indies lifted the trophy, they were runners up in the 2016 edition.

Meanwhile, Australia has been crowned champions in 2010, 2012, 2014, 2018 and 2020.

South Africa, on the other hand, advanced to a World Cup final (men’s or women’s) for the first time.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button